This thing called Youthful Exuberance

As a writer, there are certain things that come to you easily; particular attention to things (details) even when it seems you are not looking.

So sometime ago, a contact of mine used a Display Picture that most people keep hidden, an insignia of a particular confraternity. Usually I’m not one to ask people stuff about their DP except we are very good friends, I proceeded to ask him about it nonetheless and if he was a member. He answered in the affirmative. He then proceeded to explain his reason as “youthful exuberance”. My antenna went up just then. I thought he could have just own up to his choices and then let it go. I’m a sucker for people who own up to their choices, good and bad anyway. But calling his choice “youthful exuberance” when he is apparently still proud of his membership didn’t go down well with me.

For me, youthful exuberances are choices one would rather not associate with as one grows, but which are part of a person’s growing up reality. If you’re proud of your choices as an adult, then it no longer qualifies as youthful exuberance. A friend argues that though youthful exuberance is not necessarily something you’re not proud of, it could be something you’ve outgrown nonetheless.

If this guy’s choice was something he has outgrown or regret because he did it out of curiosity or peer pressure (I didn’t ask his reason), why is he identifying with that choice? However, confraternity is not the subject of this article. This article is about a young man who blamed his choices on youthful exuberance when he still very much enjoys the benefits of that choice as a young adult.

I think everyone of us have done things that looking back, either makes us smile, fill us with regrets, make us wish for those times, is the reason why a particular nickname stuck or just become great entertaining stories for when we meet old friends again. I think it is fair to call exuberances experiments i.e. experimenting with life until we get to that point where we can make informed decisions about what to let go of and what to continue with. If as a young person, I had experimented with drugs and alcohol and then decided to stop because I have outgrown that period of my life, then I can call it exuberance. If I had at one time derived joy in partying all day every day, going from one party to another, with no direction to my life and then one day I stopped it all, then that also qualifies as youthful exuberance. But if I still do these things and take pride in them, then it is not exuberance.

I’m open to a different opinion though. What do you think qualifies as youthful exuberance and what does exuberance mean to you?

3 thoughts on “This thing called Youthful Exuberance

  1. I think just that word “youthful” says it all… somewhat like the YOLO mentality. It is perhaps, that quality of doing every possible thing that makes you feel young, when you are young… and just that. And it somehow turns out that half the things most of us grew up doing as youths, irk us as adults; because we’ve grown past the “work it while it works” mentality, or just have better and more defining things to put our efforts to; so very often, we try to make excuses for our past, or better put, justify our past actions– which is usually where the word “youthful exuberance” comes to play. But I like to think it is not so for everyone… there are those ones that like to stay forever young! That said, I like to think too that very few youths at the point in time know what youthful exuberance means… we do what we do because it is what we do– we enjoy it, or it matters to us, or just because we think why the hell not; and we only start to ascribe such deep meanings as “omode l’on se mi” or “igba ewe ni” to those things in foresight. But then, times are changing my sister… and youths are becoming wiser and more rationalising human beings. 😀

    Nice post. It got me thinking Gaan ni.

    1. Hmmm.. true true. Indeed the youths are becoming wiser. I’m sure soon he’ll be one of many who would have moved past their exuberances. Or how else would we live up to our roles as future leaders?

      Thanks for reading sister, I’m glad it drew from deep thoughts.

Leave a Reply

